Ocean’s Godori

Elaine U. Cho

A thrilling, transportive ride from a powerful and evocative new voice.” 

- Lena Waithe, Rishi Rajani, and Naomi Funabashi, Hillman Grad Books

Becky Chambers meets Firefly in this big-hearted Korean space opera debut about a disgraced space pilot struggling to find her place while fighting to protect the people she loves.

ISBN

9781638930594

Language

English

Edition

Hardcover

Sale date

April 23, 2024

Dimensions

6 x 9

About the Book

Ocean Yoon has never felt very Korean, even if she is descended from a long line of haenyeo, Jeju Island’s beloved female divers. She doesn’t like soju, constantly misses cultural references, and despite her love of the game, people still say that she doesn’t play Hwatu like a Korean. Ocean’s also persona non grata at the Alliance, Korea’s solar system–dominating space agency, since a mission went awry and she earned a reputation for being a little too quick with her gun.

When her best friend, Teo, second son of the Anand Tech empire, is framed for murdering his family, Ocean and her misfit crewmates are pushed to the forefront of a high-stakes ideological conflict. But dodging bullets and winning space chases may be the easiest part of what comes next.

 

A thrilling adventure across the solar that delivers hyperkinetic action sequences and irresistible will-they-won’t-they romance alongside its nuanced exploration of colonialism and capitalism, Ocean’s Godori ultimately asks: What do we owe our past? How do we navigate our present while honoring the complicated facets of our identity? What can our future hold?

Reviews

An Indie Next Pick
An Amazon Editors’ Pick
Most Anticipated by Barnes & Noble, Lit Hub, Debutiful, and Gizmodo

-

“Space. Murder. Romance. Tradition and technology collide in this impressive debut, perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth.”

- B&N Reads, "Our Most Anticipated Books April 2024"

“Buckle up because this sci-fi will take you to places you never expected. Its plot moves with keen precision. The page-turner will bring readers to the edges of space while tackling the age of questions of who we are and what we are here for.”

- Debutiful

Ocean’s Godori is dark and dreamy and thrilling in a Blade Runner kind of way, but with an expansive love that thrums underneath the surface in the tradition of Becky Chambers. More, please.” 

- Yume Kitasei, author of The Deep Sky

“The real strength of the book, however, is in the relationships between family and friends, the living and the dead, and the ways these threads of connection motivate and inform characters. This is an entertaining debut with satisfying cultural-background details for the characters and the world and plenty of room for development.”

- Booklist

“Full of slow-burn romance, tense negotiation, and close shaves. Every scene builds suspense and illuminates fascinating themes of exploitation, privilege, and identity, all held together by a sweet found family narrative. Ambitious and heartwarming, this is a treat.

- Publishers Weekly

“Fun, full of both heart and plot.”

- Kirkus

“With its quirky band of spacefarers, this will appeal to fans of high-concept, high-appeal space opera.”

- Library Journal