The Odyssey

Lara Williams

Big news: We already found your summer 2022 reading pick.”

- Cosmopolitan

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2022 by The Millions, a Best Book to Read in April by Town & Country and The AV Club, and one of 2022’s Best Beach Reads by Southern Living

“This book is a serious vibe . . . it’s a slyly poignant satire on cruise ships, crappy jobs, and capitalism.” —Cosmopolitan

“Darkly comic existential fiction at its best.” —Culture Whisper (UK)

“Deliciously unpredictable” —Mateo Askaripour, author of Black Buck

“Utterly sharp, slyly humorous . . . Startlingly unique and beautifully written.” —Frances Cha, author of If I Had Your Face

ISBN

9781638930068

Language

English

Page count

240

Edition

Hardcover

Sale date

April 26, 2022

Dimensions

5.5 x 8.25

About the Book

From the queen of modern satire and prize-winning author of Supper Club—a debut novel that Vogue called “Stephanie Danler's Sweetbitter meets Donna Tartt's The Secret History"—comes The Odyssey, a fresh twist on the classic epic journey.
Williams delivers another thought-provoking satire about one woman’s lonely journey working aboard a luxury cruise ship and her attempts to navigate its complex work environment, the absurdity of life on and offshore, and the ever-changing seas of love and friendships. This surreal trip is an unapologetic takedown of capitalism will appeal to fans of Melissa Broder and Ottessa Moshfegh.

Reviews

Read if you like: Ottessa Moshfegh’s My Year of Rest and Relaxation, artificial flavors, avoidant behavior, wondering what a 'lifestyle' is and whether you have one.”
- Molly Young, The New York Times
Utterly sharp, slyly humorous, and at times devastating in its courageous attempts to make sense of extreme loneliness. The Odyssey is a wildly original dystopian satire about the desire and struggle to forge human connection and the craving for some semblance of progress and order when one’s life has fallen apart. Startlingly unique and beautifully written.”
- Frances Cha, author of If I Had Your Face
Deliciously unpredictable . . . an entertaining examination of work, the lengths we go to feel a sense of belonging, and how difficult it can be to navigate the ever-shifting seas of friendship and love . . . I have never read anything like this, which is a testament to Lara Williams’s craft, as well as her fearlessness in diving into the more absurd, cringeworthy, and downright uncomfortable aspects of life.”
- Mateo Askaripour, author of Black Buck
Tantalizing . . . Readers who enjoy Melissa Broder and Ottessa Moshfegh will appreciate this surreal trip through a troubled woman’s psyche.”
- Booklist
Takes the reader on a memorable journey.”
- Kirkus Reviews
Vivid and compulsive . . . an addictive and intriguingly dark (if not profound) take on an ancient narrative.”
- The New Statesman
Big news: We already found your summer 2022 reading pick.”
- Cosmopolitan
Couldn't stop reading . . . Original and intriguing, I'll be digesting this one for a while.”
- Laura Harvey, Copper Dog Books (MA)
An intriguing twist on the epic voyage. ”
- Margo Grimm Eule, East City Bookshop (DC)
An unflinching and razor-sharp satire exploring consumerism and the monotonous life of a disturbed and directionless woman working aboard a cruise ship. The Odyssey is a bleak and biting ride, with pitch-black humor and a progressively off-kilter protagonist. Reading it is a disorienting experience, with a hallucinogenic feel that becomes increasingly sobering as Ingrid nears closer and closer to her home: both on land, and within herself. Absolutely brilliant.”
- Madison Gallup, Northshire Bookstore (VT)
The Odyssey is a rueful antiheroine's journey full of dynamic absurdity that left me shell-shocked and clamoring for a higher page count. Supper Club catapulted Williams to the top of my (very short) must-read list and The Odyssey cements her place in the echelon. With its propulsive plot and macabre humor, the book is a fantastic send-up (takedown?) of modern life's knack of leaving us always craving more, more, more. If she keeps this up, I will follow Williams into the bowels of hell. Possibly lower.”
- Wesley Minter, Third Place Books (WA)
Perceptive, enigmatic and thought-provoking—I couldn't put it down. Wonderful! ”
- Amelia Horgan, author of Lost in Work

The Odyssey Limited Edition Box

To celebrate our first ever book release, we’re giving away one of our custom limited edition THE ODYSSEY boxes on Instagram.