The Empress

Gigi Griffis

A fresh, fast-paced take on a legendary woman and one of Europe’s most notorious royal love stories—guaranteed to win Sisi new fans.

- Evie Dunmore, USA Today bestselling author of Bringing Down the Duke

As seen on Netflix, The Empress is a captivating, vivid and remarkably modern tale about falling in love and finding one’s voice.

ISBN

9781638930167

Language

English

Page count

320

Edition

Paperback

Sale date

September 27, 2022

Dimensions

5.5 x 8.25

About the Book

The year is 1853, and Princess Elisabeth “Sisi” of Bavaria has been very clear: She will wait for the head-over-heels love the poets speak of, or she will have no love at all. Just because her older sister, Helene, is eagerly heeding their mother’s advice and preparing to marry Emperor Franz of Austria does not mean Sisi must also subject herself to such a dutiful existence. Sisi knows there is more to life than luncheons and corsets—if only someone would let her experience it all firsthand.


Meanwhile, in Austria, the emperor is recovering from an assassination attempt that left him wounded and scared. In a bid to keep the peace, Franz has recommitted himself to his imperial duties—and promised to romance the pliant Helene of Bavaria at his upcoming birthday celebration. How better to unite the empire than with the announcement of a new empress?

But when Sisi and Franz meet unexpectedly in the palace gardens, away from the prying eyes and relentless critique of the court, their connection cannot be denied. And as their illicit conversations turn into something more, they must soon choose between the expectations of their families and standing up for what they truly believe in . . .

Reviews

Sumptuous… Griffis lends her leads admirable strengths and forgivable flaws and colors them in with plenty of lush period detail. She also brings dramatic flair to the political intrigue before satisfyingly tying up the plot’s burning questions. Nothing in this story disappoints.

- Publishers Weekly

A fresh, fast-paced take on a legendary woman and one of Europe’s most notorious royal love stories—guaranteed to win Sisi new fans.

- Evie Dunmore, USA Today bestselling author of Bringing Down the Duke

I absolutely loved Gigi Griffis’s The Empress—history combined with fiction with a real sense of people, time, and place. Fascinating!

- Heather Graham, New York Times bestselling author

A gem of a novel with a compelling feminist bent, THE EMPRESS blends political machinations and high-stakes family drama to craft a treat both for the head and the heart.

- Vaishnavi Patel, New York Times bestselling author of Kaikeyi

Quite simply delightful. In THE EMPRESS Gigi Griffis has given us two sisters so spunky and unconventional that we want to crawl into the pages to join them, and palace intrigue enough to keep us turning pages late into the night.

- Meg Waite Clayton, international bestselling author of The Postmistress of Paris

In an era where marriages were rarely about love and largely about country, The Empress brings us the irresistible beginning to an unexpected romance, that begs the question: what would you do for love? Fans of Daisy Goodwin’s Victoria, The Crown, and Reign will delight in the coupling of Sisi and Franz.

- Jenni L. Walsh, author of Becoming Bonnie and The Call of the Wrens