The Butcher and the Wren

Alaina Urquhart

When someone who cuts open bodies for a living writes a story, it just rings true. The authenticity is there—more than just any writer can bring. Alaina has literally had her hands inside hundreds of people—and she delivers a forensic scientist vs. serial killer tale that cuts with precision and cuts to the bone. Dr. Wren Muller is poised to go on your Mount Rushmore of mystery heroes.”

- Billy Jensen, New York Times bestselling author of Chase Darkness with Me

From the co-host of chart-topping true crime podcast Morbid, a thrilling debut novel told from the dueling perspectives of a notorious serial killer and the medical examiner following where his trail of victims leads.

ISBN

9781638930143

Language

English

Page count

256

Edition

Hardcover

Sale date

September 13, 2022

Dimensions

5.5 x 8.25

About the Book

Something dark is lurking in the Louisiana bayou: a methodical killer with a penchant for medical experimentation is hard at work completing his most harrowing crime yet, taunting the authorities who desperately try to catch up. But forensic pathologist Dr. Wren Muller is the best there is. Armed with an encyclopedic knowledge of historical crimes, and years of experience working in the Medical Examiner’s office, she’s never encountered a case she couldn’t solve. Until now. Case after case is piling up on Wren’s examination table, and soon she is sucked into an all-consuming cat-and-mouse chase with a brutal murderer getting more brazen by the day. An addictive read with straight-from-the-morgue details only an autopsy technician could provide, The Butcher and the Wren promises to ensnare all who enter.

Reviews

Urquhart paints a tense and dangerous world for us right from the start and delivers it all with a skilled and evocative hand.”
- Aaron Mahnke, creator of the Lore podcast and author of The World of Lore series
When someone who cuts open bodies for a living writes a story, it just rings true. The authenticity is there—more than just any writer can bring. Alaina has literally had her hands inside hundreds of people—and she delivers a forensic scientist vs. serial killer tale that cuts with precision and cuts to the bone. Dr. Wren Muller is poised to go on your Mount Rushmore of mystery heroes.”
- Billy Jensen, New York Times bestselling author of Chase Darkness with Me
The Butcher and the Wren is perfect for fans of Dexter. Pitting a brutal serial killer against a determined medical examiner, the story is a pulse-pounding race against time. And the details the author weaves in due to her unique background as an autopsy tech heighten the realism and the suspense. Fans of Morbid will love the co-host’s debut novel.”
- Kaira Rouda, USA Today and Amazon Charts bestselling author of The Favorite Daughter and Somebody’s Home
Can a medical examiner outsmart a serial killer? The Butcher and the Wren will keep you waiting for an answer until the last bloody page. Prepare to be disturbed. A deliciously dark debut.”
- Rea Frey, bestselling author for Not Her Daughter and Secrets of Our House

Listen to The Butcher and the Wren Announcement

Alaina Urquhart announces the news of her first novel, The Butcher and the Wren, on the Morbid podcast!