Patricia Wants to Cuddle

Samantha Allen

Well, I guess Bigfoot-Lesbian-RomCom-Mystery-Horror is my new favorite genre! So much fun!”

- Lilly Wachowski, showrunner on Work in Progress and co-creator of The Matrix trilogy and Sense8

A LitHub Most Anticipated Book of 2022
A BookRiot Most Anticipated Read of 2022
A CrimeReads Selection for Most Anticipated Crime Fiction of 2022

On this season of The Catch, contestants must compete for love. And their lives.

ISBN

9781638930044

Language

English

Page count

256

Edition

Hardcover

Sale date

June 28, 2022

Dimensions

5.5 x 8.25

About the Book

When the final four women in competition for an aloof, somewhat sleazy bachelor’s heart arrive on a mysterious island in the Pacific Northwest, they prepare themselves for another week of extreme sleep deprivation, invasive interviews, and, of course, the salacious drama eager viewers nationwide tune in to devour. Each woman came on The Catch for her own reasons—brand sponsorships, followers, and, yes, even love—and they’ve all got their eyes steadfastly trained on their respective prizes. Enter Patricia, a temperamental and woe¬fully misunderstood local living alone in the dark, verdant woods, and desperate for con¬nection. Through twists as unexpected as they are wildly entertaining, the self-absorbed cast and jaded crew each make her acquaintance atop the island’s tallest and most desolate peak, finding themselves at the center of an action-packed thriller that is far from scripted—and only a few will make the final cut.
A whirlwind romp careening toward a last-girl-standing conclusion, and a scath¬ing indictment of contemporary American media culture, Patricia Wants to Cuddle is also a love story: between star-crossed lesbians who rise above their intolerant town, a deeply ambivalent woman and her budding self-actualization, and a group of misfit islanders forging community against all odds.

Reviews

Samantha Allen’s Patricia Wants to Cuddle is just as wonderful as it is weird. It’s a queer romp with a bombshell of an ending, horrifying and delightful, a real page-turner. It’s truly a book that made me laugh out loud. I loved every minute of it.”
- Kristen Arnett, New York Times bestselling author of Mostly Dead Things
To die for. Samantha Allen has filled each page with unadulterated, unbridled, unhinged genius.”
- Jacob Tobia, bestselling author of Sissy: A Coming-of-Gender Story and voice of Double Trouble on She-Ra and the Princesses of Power
Who knew a queer Sasquatchian horror comedy could pack so much emotion! As fun as it is weird, which is just plain delightful. ”
- Michael Kennedy, Freaky screenwriter
Genuinely funny, surprising, and even—at times—heartwarming. Recommended for fans of Grady Hendrix or Jessica Knoll.”
- Diana Platt, Booklist
A one-of-a-kind queer horror comedy for people who watch The Bachelor and The X-Files back-to-back. ”
- Kirkus Reviews
This is the lesbian Sasquatch novel you’ve always wanted . . . this is the most badass book imaginable. . . . The publisher describes it as 'viciously funny' but I thought it was also kinda sweet. I’d give Patricia a cuddle.”
- Molly Odintz, CrimeReads (Most Anticipated Crime Fiction of 2022)
Samantha Allen’s fiction debut promises to be a wacky, hilarious good time.”
- Casey Stepaniuk, Autostraddle

Samantha Allen is the resident The Bachelor expert in her bi-weekly column on Bustle.