Kittentits

Holly Wilson

Molly is one of the greatest young female characters I’ve had the luck of reading since I picked up Joy Williams’s The Quick and the Dead back in 2000 . . . I TRULY LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!”

- Gillian Flynn, Gillian Flynn Books

A feral, heart-busting, absurdist debut about Molly, a rambunctious and bawdy ten-year-old searching for friendship and ghosts.

ISBN

9781638931089

Language

English

Page count

336

Edition

Hardcover

Sale date

May 21, 2024

Dimensions

5.5 x 8.25

About the Book

It’s 1992, and ten-year-old Molly is tired of living in the fire-rotted, nun-haunted House of Friends: a Semi-Cooperative Living Community of Peace Faith(s) in Action with her formerly blind dad and their grieving housemate Evelyn. But when twenty-three-year-old Jeanie, a dirt bike–riding ex-con with a questionable past, moves in, she quickly becomes the object of Molly’s adoration. She might treat Molly terribly, but they both have dead moms and potty mouths, so naturally Molly can’t seem to leave Jeanie alone.

When Jeanie fakes her own death in a hot-air balloon accident, Molly runs away to Chicago with just a stolen credit card and a sweet pair of LA Gear Heatwaves to meet her pen pal Demarcus and hunt down Jeanie. What follows is a race to New Year’s Eve, as Molly and Demarcus plan a séance to reunite with their lost moms in front of a live audience at the World’s Fair.

A surrealist and bold take on the American coming-of-age novel, Holly Wilson’s debut is about the interstices of loss, grief, and friendship.

Reviews

“An invigorating read! A scorched-earth ghost story with a hell of a voice at its heart. Fans of Jen Beagin and Patricia Lockwood should read on. Fans of Anton Chekhov’s The Seagull, buzz off!”

- Amelia Gray, author of Gutshot

Kittentits is a bizarro wonderland of a book, a tasty kaleidoscopic freak show that will remind readers of a marvelously raunchy Katherine Dunn. The novel is just as much fun as it is juicy and disturbed—I enjoyed every wild and frenzied minute of it.”

- Kristen Arnett, New York Times bestselling author of With Teeth

“Holly Wilson has the stealth ability to make you laugh while breaking your heart. Reader beware: Kittentits may seem sweet, but she has claws.”

- Sarah Rose Etter, author of Ripe

“Holly Wilson’s Kittentits is sacred and profane, filled with big emotions, all amplified by grief. Molly is a wholly unique and charismatic narrator, navigating (and creating) chaos as she seeks out a way to hold onto both the living and dead. This is a wildly funny and utterly convincing coming-of-age novel like nothing I’ve read before.”

- Kevin Wilson, author of Nothing to See Here

“Part Cruddy, part otherworldly hellion parable, Holly Wilson’s Kittentits is a comet ripping through a Walmart, a carnival ride launching into the sun. Molly’s voice is raw and true, and this book is fun as shit. Kittentits is unforgettable.”

- Lindsay Hunter, author of Hot Springs Drive

Molly is one of the greatest young female characters I’ve had the luck of reading since I picked up Joy Williams’s The Quick and the Dead back in 2000 . . . I TRULY LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!” 

- Gillian Flynn, Gillian Flynn Books